Categorias

  • carnes y aves
  • carnes y aves
  • carnes y aves
  • carnes y aves
  • carnes y aves
  • carnes y aves

The label "Kosher Meat" (M) for meat products, including meat and bones of mammals and birds, soups or sauces made from them, sausages and any food containing a small portion any product mentioned above. The meat of mammals is allowed only if they are ruminant and have split hooves.

All birds other than raptors or scavengers and carnivores are permitted, The Kashrut indicates a list of 24 species prohibited for consumption.

To be kosher, mammals and birds must be slaughtered in a special procedure called shechita. After slaughter, the internal organs of animals and birds are examined to verify that they are free of disease or injury and animal parts that are not allowed to be eaten are separated.

The meat (mammals and birds) can never be combined with milk, utensils should also be used for each one separately. A product marked with the label "Kosher Meat" (M) implies that it has been slaughtered with shechita, and it is ensured there is no milk residue.

The label "Kosher Dairy" (D) for dairy products, including milk of any kosher animal and all dairy products made with it (cream, butter, cheese, etc..).

Any food that contains even a small amount of the above is included in this category. As mentioned above it is prohibited to combine meat and milk, so separate utensils should be used for each.

The industries that produce food with meat ingredients and use the same tools to prepare products with dairy ingredients or preparing food with meat ingredients and combined milk, should receive special appropriateness in instruments used (Kasherization) and inspected thoroughly to ensure the absence of the slightest residue in order to produce Kosher products.

A product marked with the label "Kosher Dairy" (D) implies that the Ingredients have no meat residue.

The label "Kosher Pareve" for neutral products, including foods that do not contain "meat" or "dairy". All fruits, vegetables and grains are considered pareve (neutral) provided they are free of insects and worms.

It is clear that all reptiles, amphibians, worms and insects are not kosher, except only four types of lobster (a variety of grasshoppers).

The eggs of animals allowed are also considered pareve. The Kashrut says that everything that comes from a kosher animal is also Kosher, so the eggs laid by Kosher birds are Kosher as well, but they should be carefully examined before use to ensure they are free of bloodstains in which case they are discarded.

In the case of honey, is not considered an "animal product", so honey is Kosher though bees are not. A product marked with the label "Kosher Pareve" means that no ingredients in the least residue of meat or milk

The label "Kosher Fish" (F) for fish products, including meat and fish products.

The Kashrut allows the use of species that inhabit in fresh and salt watter, provided they comply with the requirement to have fins and scales, so seafood and shellfish are not included in this list.

Unlike mammals and birds, the fish do not require shechita (slaughter special procedure) and is not considered "meat", so that all its derivatives fall within the product group Pareve, although it is important to take care not to store Kosher products with treif (non-kosher) salt water, as this is considered a cooking element.

Some common fish recognized as Kosher are carp, sole, sardines, tilapia, tuna, cod, salmon, snapper, dorado, mahi mahi, among many others. While some examples of non-Kosher are: shark, sturgeon, catfish, eel and swordfish to name a few.

The label "Kosher Passover" (P) for Easter products, also known as "Kosher Le Pesach" includes foods prepared with specific instructions for this holiday. According to the Kashrut Kosher Food is acceptable to consume throughout the year except Easter in which special regulations apply.

The are 5 species that Kashrut consideres chametz ("yeast") and whose consumption is not allowed during Passover. These are wheat, barley, rye, oats and spelled. Therefore all products containing ingredients in these species, any derivative thereof or which have been prepared with utensils that came in contact with them, are not fit for consumption during Passover.

The most classic examples of chametz are: Bread, cereal, cakes, cookies, pizza, pasta, beer, whiskey and others. A product marked with the label "Kosher Passover" implies that no ingredients in the least residue Jametz.

Other products such as oils, powders, flours, sauces, concentrates, seeds and grains, honey, and products derived from mineral, plant and animal origin require supervision and certification.

In the case of grape wines and spirits there are special regulations in order to be certified. All other spirits are also certifiable and should be supervised to be Kosher, this is because some liqueurs are prepared by adding ingredients and flavorings that require inspection.

There are also special rules for breads that should be supervised and certified to be Kosher.

Other raw materials used in the food industry such as flavorings, spices, salts, dyes and emulsifiers that are produced from natural sources require different monitoring and certification.